Nicaraguan Rice & Beans with Fried Plantain

nica2 (2)

I’m home and looking forward to getting back to blogging following my break!  I had an amazing time in Nicaragua, definitely my favourite trip so far!  It is such a beautiful country, and even more beautiful were the Nicaraguan people; so friendly, warm and helpful.

Food wise, my favourite was the Caribbean coconut bread on Little Corn Island, so delicious!  With the exception of the lovely Flor de Cana rum, rice and beans was definitely what I consumed the most.  Known as Gallo Pinto, it is the Nicaraguan national dish and is served with every meal.  I have made a slightly modified version a couple of times since I have returned home.   I used brown long grain rice rather than a white shorter grain, and the kidney beans which I used are larger than the red beans in central america.  I also added slightly more onion, garlic and red pepper than is usual.  Gallo Pinto is pretty much standard around the country, except that in the Caribbean side of Nicaragua they fry it in coconut oil, which I prefer as it noticably enhances the flavour and the nutrition.

I have also been craving plantain fried in coconut oil since I’ve come back.  I had never tried plantain before Nicaragua and I really liked it so I will be buying it here more often.  I topped it all off with some Nicaraguan Lizzano hot sauce, which is what I smothered all my food in on my trip, and got so addicted to that I brought some home (along with the rum!).  OK so both are not quite ‘natural’ but they are delicious! :-)

Here’s some photos of my trip!

DSC_0049

These parakeets live in the crater walls of the volcano. Their beaks are adapted to filter out the sulphur.

DSC_0158

Young coconut trees and sunshine on Little Corn Island. Paradise!

DSC_0201

Tropical storms in the Caribbean. Still beautiful and incredible to witness!

DSC_0229

Crab on the beach

DSC_0255

Nearly walked in to this spiders web!

DSC_0290

Boiling pools of mud due to subterranean lava flow from Telica volcano

DSC_0304

Underground Volcanic gases near Telica volcano

DSC_0326

Wild flowers

DSC_0347

I was lucky to see Nicaragua’s national bird, The Guardabarranco

DSC_0427

Dragon flies by the crater of Telica Volcano. When the sun set I could see the lava bubbling inside.

DSC_0497

Inside a bat cave!

DSC_0505

The crater edge of Telica

DSC_0529

Marrabios range of Volcanoes

DSC_0527

Hiking above the clouds!

DSC_0543

Leaf cutter ants

DSC_0579

Tarantula!

DSC_0591

Sunset in Las Penitas on the Pacific Ocean

DSC_0592

Sunset in Las Penitas on the Pacific Ocean

DSC_0596

Sunset in Las Penitas on the Pacific Ocean

DSC_0605

Sunset in Las Penitas on the Pacific Ocean

DSC_0628

Entrance to the Mangrove forest of Juan Venado

DSC_0652

Crabs on the mangroves

DSC_0662

Amazing camoflauged bird!!

DSC_0670

Iguana

DSC_0674

Conception Volcano on Ometepe Island

DSC_0684

Beautiful Ometepe Island

DSC_0689

Conception Volcano on Ometepe Island

DSC_0707

Sunset on Ometepe Island

DSC_0714

Conception Volcano on Ometepe Island

DSC_0728

Egret catching fish in Lake Nigaragua

DSC_0733

Vulture scavanging on the shores of Lake Nicaragua

DSC_0750

Toad by the shore of Lake Nicaragua

DSC_0764

Such a fun tree house hostel when you sleep on hammocks on platforms in the trees!

DSC_0771

Howler monkey

DSC_0775

Howler monkey

 

2 thoughts on “Nicaraguan Rice & Beans with Fried Plantain

Leave a Reply

