Morning Green Smoothies

image

A few people have been asking me on Instagram about my usual breakfast routine so I thought it was time for a quick post on my morning green smoothies.  Since I got my high powered blender at the start of the year, I have been having a green smoothie every morning.  I have always been one of those people who doesn’t feel like eating straight away in the mornings.  Previously I would just leave the house around 8am without having anything except water or sometimes nothing at all.  I’d then eat breakfast, usually porridge with almond milk, nuts, seeds and banana, in work when I began to feel hungry.  Green smoothies are quick, fast and easy to stomach first thing (you might be surprised!) so they have become the perfect compromise for me in terms of not wanting to eat in the morning before leaving the house.  So many nutrients in one glass!

I love how you can mix and match your green smoothie ingredients according to what nutrition you need, how full you want to be and for how long,  or just what flavour you feel like.  Green smoothies are so popular now, a quick internet search will bring up countless recipes.  The basic idea is that you need some greens or green powder (kale, spinach, swiss chard, green superfood powders etc), some liquid (water, almond milk or other non dairy milk) and a binder (the list is endless, soft fruits like banana, avocado, mango, oats, nut butters etc)

At first I made my green smoothies with kale, water, lemon, coconut oil, fresh ginger, ground chia seeds, ground flax seeds and banana, adding almond milk and/or oats if I wanted more sustenance.  As kale went out of season I began using spinach leaves instead, sometimes adding pineapple or mango for a sweeter taste, as well as a crazy experiment with left over almond butter, dates and apricots which was weird but delicious and very filling!

My current summer green smoothie recipe is water, banana or avocado (sometimes both), a handful of oats and supergreens powder consisting of spirulina, chlorella, wheat grass and barley grass and finally hemp protein powder.  I love hemp protein powder because hemp is a plant based complete protein, meaning it contains all 20 amino acids, including all of the essential ones, in a highly absorbable form.   Hemp is also an excellent source of the essential fatty acids omega-3 and omega-6, as well as gamma linolenic acid.  Hemp contains soluable and insoluble dietary fibre as well as great levels of vitamins A, D, E, and B vitamins. It is also a good source of iron and a high source of magnesium.   Hemp is especially great for post-workout due to it’s high protein levels which will help to feed the muscles, as well as it’s  branch-chained amino acids which are needed for repair and growth of lean body tissue.  For this reason I always add hemp protein powder to my post run or workout smoothie too.

And while we’re on the subject of hemp,  I know there will be some of you who are wondering…  the hemp which is cultivated for smoking and medicinal purposes is a different strain of the plant, containing much more of the essential THC compound, so no matter how much hemp protein powder you consume, you are not going to get high! ;-)

Occasionally I do get tired of a green smoothie every morning and in that case I usually whip up a dessert-for-breakfast smoothie using almond milk, raw cacao powder, banana, vanilla and date syrup. Yuuuum!!

image

If you enjoyed this post and are new to Natural Fuel, why not use the box on the top right of this page to receive update notifications by email, or follow Natural Fuel on FacebookTwitterInstagram or Pinterest.

 

Leave a Reply

