Tropical Mango & Coconut Moisturising Body Mousse

Image

DSC_1019

Image

As regular readers will know, I have recently stopped buying so many store bought chemical laden cosmetics and face and body products, and now try to make many of my own which are natural and organic.  You can check out the reasons behind this decision here.

Up to now I have been using my solid moisturiser bars as my body moisturiser (the recipe is here).  I love the solid format because they are so easy to use and great for travelling but I do sometimes miss slathering on a cream! It’s difficult to find a completely natural emulsifying agent which will keep the oils and liquids together in order to make a totally natural body cream, however the whipping method is a popular alternative as it needs no emulsifier, and I think the texture is far nicer than a cream.  A little goes a long way and it glides on effortlessly, soaking your skin in a rich yet light, totally moisturised cloud of tropical citrus scented natural organic bliss!

Like all homemade cosmetics, it’s surprisingly simple to make, trust me! The types of oils and butter used can be adapted according to your skin’s needs or even just in order to incorporate your favourite smell. The only extra thing you do need is an electric hand whisk -don’t even attempt to try doing it by hand if you don’t have an electric whisk!  It takes ten to fifteen minutes of whipping even with the electric one so no matter how strong you are I can’t see anyone managing to whip the oils into a light mousse by hand!  You can get very cheap electric models which should work fine. The constant whipping and beating mechanically emulsifies the oils so that they won’t separate, but if you live in a very hot climate, you might want to keep this is in the fridge.

Mango butter is highly moisturising.  It improves the skin’s elasticity, prevents wrinkles, and contains large amounts of vitamin A and E.  Avocado oil is rich in vitamins A, B, D and E, while also encouraging cell regeneration. Apricot kernel oil is anti inflammatory and  especially good for sensitive and mature skins.  Jojoba oil is a conditioning oil high in antioxidants and suitable for all skin types.

Image

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup mango butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (grated)
  • 1/8 cup jojoba oil
  • 1/8 cup peach kernel oil
  • 1/4 cup avocado oil
  • 10 drops orange essential oil
  • 5 drops lemon essential oil
  • 5 drops neroli essential oil

Place the butters and oils (minus the essential oils) in to a large heat proof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water.  Allow them to melt gently together until fully combined.  Remove from the heat.  Stir in the essential oils and ensure that the ingredients are mixed well.  Place the bowl in the fridge for about an hour until the mixture is hardening slightly.  Remove the bowl and whip the mixture with an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy.  This should take between ten and twenty minutes -a bit boring but think of it as an arm workout!!  Transfer the whipped mousse to lidded (preferably airtight) jar.

If you enjoyed this post and are new to Natural Fuel, why not use the box on the top right of this page to receive update notifications by email, or follow Natural Fuel on FacebookTwitterInstagram or Pinterest.

12 thoughts on “Tropical Mango & Coconut Moisturising Body Mousse

  1. I’ve been looking for a good recipe for homemade face creams and this looks perfect! I managed to find one or 2 but it always seemed to turn out really greasy and not creamy like i wanted… I Can’t wait to try this! It sounds and looks fab!

    • Yay glad to inspire you! It’s so surprisingly easy and you end up with a gorgeous natural, organic vegan product! I am hooked! Let me know how it goes if you try it!
      Rowena x

      • I have to get my hands on a proper mixer first. What would you suggest as a substitute for the mango? (I’m allergic to mango – not sure if it would have an effect slathered on my body rather than ingested, but I’m not sure I’d want to chance it)
        Thanks! :)

        • You’re right to not take a chance I think, you could definitely be allergic to it on your skin also! Any other butter would work as a replacement, for example shea butter or cocao butter, whatever benefit / smell you prefer!
          Rowena

  2. What a great recipe, I’m definitely trying this! I used to make a lot more of my own products as I trained as an aromatherapist many years ago. I am now experiencing a pretty awful hormone imbalance, an oestrogen dominance, so will have to have everything natural and making my own will be part of that. Thanks for this :)

    • Hi April, thanks for your comment, delighted that you’ll be trying out the recipe, let me know how it goes! Remember you can sub other butters and oils. Hope you manage to balance out, I’ve had hormonal imbalances too (mine were from birth control pill, now off it) and they are not pleasant!
      Best of luck with it! :-)
      Rowena x

      • I will let you know for sure. Oh wow, my issues are also from birth control pills- Yasmin. Coming off has been awful :( I’m writing a post about it. It’s improving with some herbal supplements but the side effects are horrendous- both on and off! Not pleasant at all. The worst is over I think, but it’s a long process.

        • I have also just recently come off Yasmin, I was on Ovranette before that, which didn’t suit me at all, so I switched to Yasmin. I was actually doing okay on Yasmin but ultimately I wanted to stop putting all those fake hormones in to my body! I did a post of coming off hormonal birth control and the things that you can do to help balance your hormones naturally afterwards -so far so good for me, very thankful, I was nervous of the side effects! I’m glad that the side effects are easing off for you! :-)
          Rowena

Leave a Reply

