Fudgey Mini Chocolate Cakes

Image

Image

Mmmm these are such a treat!  They are more dense and fudgey than a cupcake, which I would usually expect to rise a bit higher. Because of the texture, these feel even more sinful, but they are as healthy as I could make them, and as desserts go they are pretty much sinless! 

 I topped these with with my yummy raw chocolate avocado mouse.  You can find the recipe here. I am such a chocaholic and thought that the mousse would be a perfect way to make a indulgent feeling but very healthy chocolate cake. 

I use raw chocolate in the mousse to get all the amazing superfood antioxidant benefits of raw cacao.  I used plain unsweetened cocoa powder for the cakes, as the cakes go in the oven, so there would be no point using raw cacao in the recipe as the high temperatures would destroy the raw benefits. 

 These high temperatures are what transforms super healthy antioxidant laden cacao powder in to no health benefits cocoa powder. Raw cacao powder comes from the raw unprocessed cacao plant.  This plant is roasted at high temperature and ground to make cocoa powder, which retains the chocolately taste, but has lost all of it’s healthy benefits.  Raw chocolate is made using raw cacao powder, while most commercial chocolates are made using cocoa powder, and the addition of sugar, dairy, butter and other additives.

 Search for my past post on coconut sugar using the box on the right if you would like more detailed information on why I use organic coconut sugar over regular processed cane sugar.  The use of this is also good news for diabetics, you can happily and safely munch on these bad boys as coconut sugar and agave syrup has a low glycemic index!

 I made a big mistake when making these by accidentally adding 1 tsp of almond essence instead of picking up the similar bottle of vanilla essence!  My heart sank when I smelt the almond aroma wafting up from the mixture!  Although I love almonds, this was not the plan!  I didn’t want to waste the cakes so carried on making them, thinking that as I love almond they may be edible for me, and I can make sure to write vanilla in the recipe instead, as I had made the cakes before.  I found however that the almond added such a richness to the flavour that I will be including it from now, just at a reduced level so that the almond does not overpower the other ingredients.

 INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 ¼ cup white spelt flour
  • ½ cup organic coconut sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/3 cup sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.  Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, and then mix in the wet ingredients until smooth.  Spoon in to cupcake papers and bake for 15 – 20 minutes.  It will depend on the size of your cupcake paper -you will know they are done when a skewer comes out clean.  Top with the raw chocolate avocado mousse and some cacao nibs.

Cougar the Cat wanted another cameo appearance on the blog!!

Image

 

If you enjoyed this post and are new to Natural Fuel, why not use the box on the top right of this page to receive update notifications by email, or follow Natural Fuel on FacebookTwitterInstagram or Pinterest.

 

Leave a Reply

