Raw Chocolate Mousse

Image

Image

This is perfect for a totally guilt free chocolate hit.  It is so healthy -absolutely bursting with anti oxidants, omega 6, omega 9 and loads of vitamins!

A few weeks ago I was on the way to work when I spotted something interesting in the paper the man beside me was reading.  A recipe for ‘chocolate avocado mousse’.   I couldn’t get any closer to make out the recipe without seeming like a creep, but it was an intriguing idea and it planted a seed in my head!

My guess is that the recipe probably used cocao powder rather than raw chocolate, as well as sugar, but being a raw dessert addict, I immediately began concocting this healthier raw version.  The mild bland flavour and creamy texture of an avocado is perfect for making non dairy mousse, I don’t know why I never thought of it before.

If you like the look of this, keep an eye out next week for this mousse topped on mini chocolate cakes!
INGREDIENTS:
  • 2 ripe soft avocados
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup or another liquid sweetener if you prefer, such as date syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and mix until smooth.  You can play around with the amounts of raw cacao and agave syrup until you get the taste you prefer.  I also added about a quarter cup of water to blend to the consistency I wanted.  You could add some almond milk instead to make it creamier, but for me this is creamy enough already from the avocado.  This will firm up even more in the fridge after a few hours, so if you intend to use it as a mousse and are not eating it immediately, you might want to put a small ammount of extra water in it after you have reached your prefered consistency.  I sprinkled raw cacao nibs over the top, to make it look pretty :-)

If you enjoyed this post and are new to Natural Fuel, why not use the box on the top right of this page to receive update notifications by email, or follow Natural Fuel on FacebookTwitterInstagram or Pinterest.

 

One thought on “Raw Chocolate Mousse

  1. Pingback: Fudgey Mini Chocolate Cakes (df, ef, wf) | Natural Fuel

Leave a Reply

