Tzatziki -Greek Yoghurt, Cucumber and Garlic Dip (Non Dairy)

Image

 

Quick and easy one tonight.   My parents recently spent three weeks travelling around some of the Greek islands.  I did a similar trip back in 2007 with some of my friends, and among the many delicious foods I ate there, tzatziki was one of my favourites, along with the black kalamata olives, and the retsina, super strong wine made with pine resin.  My parents brought me back lovely handmade olive oil soap as a present and while using it this morning the memories of Greece and cravings for tzatziki hit me hard!

Several countries have versions of this dip, including Turkey (which is where it is thought to have originated), Cyprus, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Iran, Iraq and India.  Depending on the version, mint, parsley or dill is often used to garnish.
.
To make this I simply replaced the plain greek dairy yoghurt with plain soy yogurt.  I don’t like to use too many overly processed foods in my recipes and unfortunately soy yoghurt definitely does not grow on a soy yoghurt tree!  But now and then is no harm, and served with some crusty wheat free bread and amazing Kalamata olives, it definitely satisfied my cravings!  Now I just need to brew my own retsina!
INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 cup plain no dairy yoghurt
  • Half large cucumber
  • 3 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive OIl
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon
Grate the cucumber.  I use the coarser one rather than the very fine holes.  I leave the skins on to preserve the nutrients, but you could peel and remove the seeds if you would like a more refined and less watery dip.   Add the cucumber to the soy yoghurt along with the olive oil, garlic and lemon juice.  Season with salt and pepper.  Chill before serving to allow the flavours to combine and garnish with fresh herbs if you like.

If you enjoyed this post and are new to Natural Fuel, why not use the box on the top right of this page to receive update notifications by email, or follow Natural Fuel on FacebookTwitterInstagram or Pinterest.

 

3 thoughts on “Tzatziki -Greek Yoghurt, Cucumber and Garlic Dip (Non Dairy)

Leave a Reply

