Mango, Banana, Coconut & Ginger High Protein Smoothie -and my first mental block in running!

Image

Today’s post run smoothie was Mango, Banana, Coconut and Ginger –To update on my 5km running goal progress, the race is in 2 weeks and so far my furthest has been 3.35km.  I had hoped to be able to run further than that by now but I had to take 11 days break as I hurt my foot and I was also away in Budapest for 4 nights, stuffing myself with cake.  Thankfully my foot seems to be better now, and I had hoped to do 4km today, but I had to stop after 2.16km.  I had a break for a minute or two and tried again, and gave up after .38km!! Must have been a mental block at that stage! But instead of being hard on myself I congratulated myself for  going running straight after work on a Friday evening and just had a nature walk instead -enjoying the setting sun, the changing Autumn leaves, and spotting deer and rabbits. Hippppy!! :-D Hopefully I will be back on track next time I run!

Anyway back to the smoothie!!  Coconut is widely cited as having a vast array of beneficial properties.  It boosts metabolism, controls blood sugar levels, stimulates the thyroid, improves digestion, strengthens the immune system, detoxifies the body, increases good cholesterol, is anti fungal and antimicrobial -the list goes on!  If there is any left over oil left on your fingers or on the spoon after measuring, rub it in to your hands (or anywhere else!) as a fantastic, natural, tropical smelling moisturiser.

Ginger has a long tradition of being a gastrointestinal soother and anti inflammatory, it is great for tummy upsets or cramps.  Ginger is also loved for it’s immune boosting, warming properties, and it’s ability to promote healthy circulation and sweating, particularly if suffering from a cold or flu.  It can also aid congestion and sinus issues.  A good tip for storing ginger is simply to keep the root in your freezer so that you always have it handy.  You can peel it first if you wish, but when frozen the skin can easily be scraped off and the flesh grated or sliced, then just pop the rest back in the freezer.  As with my other smoothie recipes, play around with the quantities, but be mindful that the milled seeds will bulk up and absorb water so you may need to balance this if you add too many.

INGREDIENTS:

  • Almond milk (about 300ml, depends how thick you like it)
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 mango
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 inch grated ginger (adjust according to taste)
  • 2 tbsp hemp protein powder
  • 1 tbsp milled chia seed
  • 1 tbsp milled flax seed, pumpkin seed, sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp red maca powder (optional)
Image
Image
Image

If you enjoyed this post and are new to Natural Fuel, why not use the box on the top right of this page to receive update notifications by email, or follow Natural Fuel on FacebookTwitterInstagram or Pinterest.

 

4 thoughts on “Mango, Banana, Coconut & Ginger High Protein Smoothie -and my first mental block in running!

Leave a Reply

